I Just Couldn’t Do It

I’ve never tried to go into a book shop and not pick a book so I thought I’d give it a go.  I’m going to have to change the rules.  I think I’m too tight (mean) to spend out on something I know nothing about.  Also, all the lovely books are laid out screaming for your attention.  I just couldn’t stop myself picking them up, looking at the cover, looking at the blurb.  If any of the staff were watching me I must have looked quite strange:  furtively looking and then quickly slipping the book back down!

Book shops are just too damn good!  I’m addicted.  I can’t stop looking!  I think the only way to do it is to ask the staff to get you a book (if you can afford it).

Fareham Library

I went over to the library and that was a lot easier.  I could quite happily saunter past a table and grab any book, almost without looking!  Though I would give it a quick glance before going to the issue desk (or more likely machine these days – bah humbug) in case you’ve grabbed a copy of Fifty Shades of Grey!

While we’re on the subject of libraries, my local has been revamped with machines to scan and issue/return books yourself.  It was nice to go into the library and chat with the staff who were out from behind the desk mixing with the library users.  I asked one whether they liked this, expecting a positive answer.  But apparently not.  I think they’d like to keep the books to themselves, or users could only come to the library by invitation!  I thought it would be nice mixing with the general public and chatting about book choices etc.

Leave a Reply

