Does someone speak with your voice?

Collaborator260713

Have you ever read a book or passage and been struck by the thought that this is just like my inner voice?  I have and it was quite a shock.

Firstly, you have to be aware of your inner voice, warts and all, after all it’s you without the mask or the editor.  I think many people go through life subconsciously responding to their inner voice – “That’s just the way I am and I can’t help it!” is said by those blissfully ignorant of their inner voice.  If you reflect on your behaviour, think about what’s going through your mind then you have a chance of recognising your inner voice.

Secondly, someone who writes has to record consciousness in a way that is like you inner voice, which I would guess would indicate either they are an incredibly perceptive person or they are using their own inner voice.

Thirdly, like your soul mate, you have to find them!

Now, we are all individuals and I have no idea whether any two people think alike inside their heads.  I often think that we are so separated from each other; we have no idea whether the blue I see is perceived inside my head in the same way as the blue you see, I don’t even know that you experience colours in the same way.  All we know is that we can recognise the same characteristics (in this case blueness) and talk about it.  So it would not be unthinkable that you are unique, no one thinks like you!

So who writes like my inner voice?  In my case it’s Ian McEwan.  I feel like I’m showing off, but it isn’t the clever stuff of his novels (which I love by the way), it’s the more mundane passages that really ring true (getting out of bed, opening the curtains, going into the kitchen, that stuff) and have caused me to say out loud

“That’s exactly how I think”

English: Ian McEwan, a british writer, photogr...

English: Ian McEwan, a british writer, photographed during the 2001 Paris book festival. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We’re nothing alike, which makes it even more extraordinary.

So I’m dying to know if this has happened to anyone else.  Be careful not to identify with someone who you’d like to be like.  If you’re wondering and trying to think, then it hasn’t happened to you!  It would fascinating if more people found this with Ian McEwan, perhaps he’s really good at just writing about “being”.

5 responses

  1. Yeah when I read How (Not) to speak of God by Peter Rollins that happened, I think the Corrections by Jonathan Franzen had a similar effect too.

    1. I’d like to see if they have a similar effect on me too. Was it the whole book or just some passages (let’s hope they’re not about serial killers or you’re in trouble).
      Thanks for you interest

      1. Haha, they’re not. The peter rollins book is a theology book, the corrections is one of my most fave fiction novels ever

  2. I feel that way sometimes about Stephen King. I’m not sure what that says about me, though! It’s not the horror sections that I relate to, but the inner monologues of his characters when they are stressed.

    1. Great! I was a bit spooked by mine being Ian McEwan because he does write some quite disturbing stuff, but I’m not in the same league as you 🙂 Perhaps good authors are good because they can write believable, well actually real, internal monologue. Thanks for your interest and lets keep our fingers crossed that our inner voices don’t start sounding like the rest of these authors’ books!

Leave a Reply

